Skip To Content
Russell High School Advances in National Theatre School Drama Festival
Russell High School Drama Team Qualifies for Regionals of National Theatre School Drama Festival
Posted on 03/09/2018

March 9, 2018 (Cornwall, ON) - The Russell High School (RHS) drama team has qualified to compete in the Eastern Regionals of the National Theatre School Drama Festival, taking place April 9 -14 at Perth and District Collegiate Institute.

The Russell squad qualified after winning Awards of Excellence and Merit at the Festival’s Seaway District competition March 1-3 in Cornwall. Stage Manager Isobel McIntyre received an Award of Excellence for her work on the school’s entry Hedges, while costume designers Marieke Kragt and Laura Anex won an Award of Merit for their work as well.

RHS teacher Kevin Kennedy, who is directing the production, said he was proud of his squad for their commitment to the competition.

“We put so much time into rehearsing for this show in a short period of time and it is always an amazing feeling of pride to see their hard work pay off,” said Kennedy.

The cast, all Grade 12 students, includes: Mercedez Meier, Everett Rama, Morgan McKinley, Graeme Kingswood, Isaac Thomas and Alexandra O'Reilly. The technical crew for the show is comprised of Jared Levesque, Hannah St. George, and Zachary Tozer. 

A team from St. Lawrence Secondary School also competed, winning awards including: Award of Distinctive Merit for Best Comedic Actor, David Dubinsky; Award of Distinctive Merit for Best Props, teacher Sonya MacDonell’s Art Club; and Award of Excellence for Best Ensemble, dramatic crew.

For media inquiries, please contact:

Kevin Kennedy
Drama Teacher
Russell High School
(613) 445-2659

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.